

## Report to COUNCIL

# Review of Parliamentary Constituency Boundaries – response to the Boundary Commission Consultation

Portfolio Holder: Councillor Jean Stretton, Cabinet Member for

**Economy and Enterprise** 

Officer Contact: Paul Entwistle, Director of Legal Services

Report Author: Paul Entwistle

Ext. 4822

#### 8 November 2017

## 1. Background

- 1.1 In 2016, the Boundary Commission for England (BCE) announced the start of a review of Parliamentary constituencies. Further to initial proposals issued by BCE, the Council agreed a response at its meeting on 9 November 2016. A copy of the report is attached at Appendix 1.
- 1.2 The response was to submit an alternative proposal with two constituencies comprising all Council wards. The detail of the proposal is contained at paragraph 2.4 of the report. The response also highlighted the concern in separating the two Royton wards and splitting Saddleworth West and Lees from Saddleworth North and Saddleworth South wards.
- 1.3 The Council has recently received the 'Revised proposals for the new constituency boundaries in the North West'. A copy is attached at Appendix 2. The consultation period for responses to the revised proposals closes on 11 December 2017.
- 1.4 To summarise the position, the proposals are for the Oldham wards to be placed into constituencies as follows:
  - a) A proposed new Littleborough and Saddleworth constituency. This will include five Rochdale wards and five Oldham wards.

- b) A proposed, newly named, Oldham constituency comprising eight Oldham wards and taking Moston from Manchester City Council.
- c) A proposed new Failsworth and Droylsden constituency of seven Oldham wards and three Tameside wards.

Constituency	Ward	Local Authority	Electorate
Littleborough and	Crompton	Oldham	8,064
Saddleworth			
	Saddleworth North	Oldham	7,651
	Saddleworth South	Oldham	8,030
	Saddleworth West and	Oldham	8,246
	Lees		
	Shaw	Oldham	7,388
	Balderstone and Kirkholt	Rochdale	6,636
	Littleborough Lakeside	Rochdale	7,410
	Milnrow and Newhey	Rochdale	7,582
	Smallbridge and Firgrove	Rochdale	7,344
	Wardle and West	Rochdale	7,362
	Littleborough		
Constituency	Ward	Local Authority	Electorate
Oldham	Moston	Manchester	11,166
	Chadderton Central	Oldham	7,782
	Chadderton North	Oldham	8,114
	Vhadderton South	Oldham	7,509
	Coldhurst	Oldham	7,993
	Royton North	Oldham	7,736
	Royton South	Oldham	8,105
	St James	Oldham	7,556
	Waterhead	Oldham	7,924
Constituency	Ward	Local Authority	Electorate
Failsworth and	Alexandra	Oldham	6,212
Droylsden			
	Failsworth East	Oldham	7,687
	Failsworth West	Oldham	7,386
	Holinwood	Oldham	7,171
	Medlock Vale	Oldham	7,845
	St Mary's	Oldham	8,151
	Werneth	Oldham	7,261
	Audenshaw	Tameside	9,165
	Droylsden East	Tameside	8,705
	Droylsden West	Tameside	8,824

1.5 Whilst it is welcomed that the revised proposals retain both Royton wards in the same constituency and the three Saddleworth wards in the same constituency, it is still considered that there are considerable merits in the alternative proposal as agreed by Council in November 2016. It is, therefore, proposed that the response by Council reiterates the Council's preferred position as agreed previously. It is acknowledged that councilors may make individual representations on the proposals in addition to those made by the Council.

### 2. Recommendation

2.1 That Council reiterates the alternative proposal as outlined in paragraph 2.4 of the report of the 9 November 2016.

### 3. Background Papers

Revised Proposals for New Constituency Boundaries in the North West as detailed at Appendix 2.

## 4. Appendices

Appendix 1 – Council Report 9<sup>th</sup> November 2017 - 2018 Review of Parliamentary Constituencies – Response to the Boundary Commission Consultation.

Appendix 2 - Revised Proposals for New Constituency Boundaries in the North West.